Voice of Ruin
Morning Wood

I never thought I’s actually say this in a review, but here goes- the second album from Swiss act Voice of Ruin is a throwback record- not a retro thrash or death metal throwback but a throw back to the…..classic American metal/metalcore days of the mid 00s.

Yup. Miss Unearth or Lamb of God’s mid 00s records? Miss God Forbid and Shadows Fall? Miss all those Crash/Pavement music ‘modern metal’ bands? Then Morning Wood is for you (never thought I’d ever say that either).

Chunky groovy thrashy metal with some dual licks and melodies , a few clean choruses abound, Morning Wood is a beefy, enjoyable, simple record that hearkens back to a time when American metal was all the rage. An even  though the band’s themes and lyrics (though that cover art IS kickass)  are a bit tongue in cheek with song titles like ‘Welcome to the Stud Farm”, “Big Dick”, “Sex for Free” and “Cock n Bulls”, the music itself is a pretty solid affair with ample thrashing numbers, some catchy solos and choruses and a very solid modern production befitting the band;s influences.

If an album has a song tribute to the Robert Rodriguez, Machete films, “Through the Eyes of Machete” (the video above) you know you are in for a fun, no nonsense, but low brow ride, and Voice of Ruin deliver with a big brazen grin and big balls. It’s a simple, shallow release that’s fun for a loud stereo and road trip with a group of non picky metal heads. You can thrash it up with “Day of Rage” and “Voils Disenvoltes” or shred a little air guitar along to “The Rise of Nothing”  and “Sex for Free” and head bang and sing along to the groove laden title track or even sway a lighter along with the instrumental ballad “Today Will End”.

Its all here in it’s dumbed down, American, decade old, but still kinda fun glory. And its certainly a break from the post shoe gaze tech death overload I’ve heard in 2014, even if its from a era largely mocked and ridiculed by many.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 28th, 2014


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold