The Burning Illusion

I’ve reviewed both the prior albums from Indiana’s Yellowtooth, fronted by the ever-busy Pete Clemens (Invasion, Corporation SS, Nocturnal Torment), each better than the predecessor, and that trend continues with album number 3 (complete with a redesigned logo), a full-on jump to the next level in quality.

Describing Yellowtooth is difficult as they shift around quite a bit on this album, both from track to track and within each track. What’s clear is that while the band is geographically located in Michigan City, Indiana, their heart and soul is in the deep south of Louisiana, as the mood and tone of The Burning Illusion, is a swampy, gingivitis- mouthed sludgy-ness that’s part Down, part Crowbar, part Floodgate ( the Exhorder side project). Throw in a healthy dose of death ‘n’ roll (think late Gorefest or Entombed), some stoner metal haze, and somehow, some 90s era grunge (think Alice in Chains or Soundgarden), and you get a uniquely enjoyable sound and record.

The fourth track, the standout, “Astronaut’s Journey” exemplifies Yellowtooth’s sound perfectly if you are having a hard time visualizing the above description. It’s a slow groover, as is the opener “From Faith to Flames” and hazy “Scattered to the Wind”. However, there are a few more uptempo numbers, but they still reek of moonshine and tooth decay as heard on ” The Illusion” or another killer track, “Void” and closer “Lazarus Syndrome” which almost has a melodic death metal melody and canter at times.

Clemens keeps things gruff with his vocals, (that, with the guitar tone is the death ‘n’ roll part to these ears), with a  few hazy croons here and there and they never get quite too stoner-y or fuzzed-out, but deftly straddle multiple genres with confidence and Ill be lookig forward to more albums. Now Pete, how about another Invasion album?

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 1st, 2021


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain