(July 20, 2009) – Vagrant Records announces an October 6, 2009 release date for Desperate Living, the fourth full-length from Southern California’s HORSE The Band. The twelve-track set was recorded at White Buffalo Studios in Los Angeles with producer Noah Shain and includes several special guests.

“Noah really cared about helping us get exactly the sound and feel we wanted on the record,” said keyboardist Erik Engstrom. “We also have incredible guests on the record like classical pianist Valentina Lisitsa. She plays a Prokofiev piece (composed 100 years ago after his best friend shot himself in the face with a pistol) at the end of “Rape Escape” which is possibly the most powerful song we’ve ever written. I’m a huge fan of hers and this is the first recording of her playing this piece of music -it’s absolutely devastating.”

Other guests include Jamie Stewart of Xiu Xiu in a noise and sound design production role and contributing vocals on the track “Shapeshift,” which was recently released on limited edition 7″ vinyl. K-SLAX, the mysterious underground rap sensation, guests on “HORSE the song,” and Ed Edge, whom fans know as the band’s occasional triangle player, appears on “Big Business.” The title track features The Number 12 Looks Like You drummer, Jon Karel.

HORSE The Band will be on the Never Say Die! Club Tour 2009 this fall and will be announcing their plans for a US tour soon. The band’s 2008 Earth Tour was self-booked, self-financed, and covered 4 continents and 45 countries in just 3 months.

HORSE the band’s debut album, R. Borlax was released in 2003 and was followed by The Mechanical Hand in 2005 and A Natural Death in 2007. The band has performed over 600 shows and toured with The Dillinger Escape Plan, The Fall of Troy, and Between The Buried and Me, among others.

HORSE The Band is Nathan Winneke (vocals), David Isen (guitar), Erik Engstrom (keys), and Daniel Pouliot (drums)

Desperate Living track listing:
1. Cloudwalker
2. Desperate Living
3. The Failure Of All Things
4. HORSE the song (featuring K-SLAX)
5. Science Police
6. Shapeshift (featuring Jamie Stewart)
7. Between The Trees
8. Golden Mummy Golden Bird
9. Lord Gold Wand of Unyielding (featuring Lord Gold and His Purple Majesty)
10. Big Business (featuring Ed Edge)
11. Rape Escape (featuring Valentina Lisitsa)
12. Arrive