Lorna Shore

I’ve been listening to New Jersey’s Lorna Shore since 2013/14’s EP, Maleficium,  and 2015 debut full length Psalms . And while I enjoyed the band’s synth tinged take on deathcore, I never expected them to blow up into the full on symphonic blackened deathcore act that delivered Flesh Coffin in 2017.

Well, after some delays and some controversy (more on that later), Lorna Shore has finally delivered Immortal, and it’s well worth the wait. 2019 had some excellent symphonic deathcore/death metal from the likes of Ov Lustra, Immanifest and Shadow of Intent, but Christ, does Immortal set the bar for 2020, being a bombastic, brutal and downright brilliant example symphonic drenched deathcore.

And I say drenched, not tinged or laced, as the orchestration is over the top, theatrical, Dimmu Borgir/ Cradle of Filth levels of grandeur that is full on symphonic black metal with some down right  epic,  sweeping keyboards and choirs that would make Shagrath blush with envy and fellow genre purveyors Winds of Plague and Carnifex skulk off in shame. And backing all that is some pretty dense, well produced metal that’s certainly deathcore in its tone and heft (yes, there are plenty of breakdowns) but rendered with more blacker pacing and delivery.

It comes together to form some very, very striking, bombastic, dramatic moments that improve the overall cohesion and song writing from prior efforts. From the stirring choral opening of the title track through personal favorites “Death Portrait” and downright epic “Hollow Sentence”, to almost pure black metal rippers like “This Is Hell”, another standout, “Obsession”, “King Ov Deception” and closer “Relentless Torment”. Mired in there are plenty of moments of expected, but still symphonic deathcore heft such as aforementioned “Hollow Sentence” and “King ov Deception” as well as “Misery System” and “Darkest Spawn”, but the prior elements are what makes the album special, as the brutal deathcore chugs could be from any Whitechapel album complete with inhaled vomitous burps and screeches.

And so, speaking of the vocals, the band decided to release the album despite some pretty heinous allegations against vocalist CJ McGreery at the end of 2019. Without giving him too much space here, his vocals are impressive, almost on par with Shrine of Malice‘s Greg Gilbert. But, the band should have no problem replacing him and finding an appropriate, less shitty person to do vocals.

Immortal has blown me away and along with Marrasmieli’s  Between Land And Sky, has  been listened to over and over again, past review purposes and will more than likely end up on my year end list.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
February 10th, 2020


  1. Commented by: James M.

    I’m glad you reviewed this. This is one of those instances that unfortunately comes up far too often where we have to separate the art from the artist, as difficult as it may be. I have been meaning to check this out, but had my reservations because of the references allegations.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP