Brooklyn, NY heavy psych rock band NAAM has completed work on its debut album.  The fast-risingbuzz band will drop the self-titled Naam on October 20, 2009 via NYC’s Tee Pee Records.   

 A sneak peek at what NAAM‘s debut holds in store is available now as the new song “Skyling Slip” can be heard as part of a Village Voice spotlight on the band.  A first look at the album’s primo cover art – created by artist Ryan Hamilton – has also been made available today.  Check out all the action at this location.

The follow up to the group’s three-song mega-EP Kingdom, Naam was recorded on an abandoned dairy farm in New York’s Catskill Mountains and delivers pitch-dark, utterly hypnotic songs that resurrect the concept of space-rock for a new era.  NAAM‘s raw, feedback-powered sound pools densely distorted riff-o-rama with throbbing bass lines and echoey, buzzy vocals that seem to hang in the open spaces in between.  Calling for comparison to The Stooges, MC5, Can, Loop and Hawkwind, the music of NAAM conjures both post-apocalyptic dazzle and unsettling feeling via punishing, deeply penetrating repetition and twisted vapor trails of guitar.  NAAM pounds giant riffs into submission resulting in downered sub-blues melancholia that sounds like the soundtrack to a missing hallucination scene from Easy RiderNAAM‘s high-voltage power and addictive sonance has found favor with both metalheads and psychedelic rock fans alike, all of whom have talked up the group’s thundering musical muscle.

     The final track listing for NAAM‘s Naam is as follows:

          1.) Kingdom
          2.) Stone Ton
          3.) Skyling Slip
          4.) Fever If Fire
          5.) Tidal Barrens
          6.) Icy Row
          7.) Westered Wash
          8.) Frosted Tread
          9.) Windy Gates
         10.) Black Ice