Recently reformed Texas death metal veterans DIVINE EVE have issued the following update.

“As writhing flames whisper to the darkness, winds of chaos fade into the abyss… DIVINE EVE is very eager to declare the 4 song E.P. is in its final stages of completion. The title Vengeful and Obstinate is a fitting banner to raise proudly above our first recordings in over 14 years. DIVINE EVE continues to be encouraged and inspired by the extremely positive support from the underground extreme metal music scene! We strongly HAIL those loyal followers of DIVINE EVE’s long over due reformation and Legacy. More news to come about soon to be available release formats, as well as song samples. RIDE THE WINGS OF ARMAGEDDON!”

Vengeful And Obstinate will be available via Ibex Moon Records later this year. Behold the return of DIVINE EVE!


Michael Sleavin – Rhythm Guitar & Vocals
Xan Hammack – Lead Guitar & Vocals
Matt Killen – Drums & Backing Vocals


DIVINE EVE was formed on a bleak, late winter day in February 1992 by Michael A. Sleavin (rhythm guitar & vocals) and Matthew Killen, (drums & backing vocals) both of whom were in a band called CATHARSIS. They were soon joined by Xan Hammack (lead guitar & vocals) and Tyson Lueck (bass & backing vocals) and were preparing for their debut recording, The Last of the Sunset Faded, in October 1992. Just before the studio sessions took place, Tyson quit the band and all bass tracks were recorded by Hammack. Tyson rejoined the fold six months later in May 1993 and remained a full-time member until their disintegration nearly two years later. 500 cassette copies of The Last of the Sunset Faded sold rapidly and by November 1993, DIVINE EVE was instantly signed to Nuclear Blast Records for Europe and Nuclear Blast America (Relapse) for the US.

A new promotional EP was recorded in the winter of 1993/94 titled Essence of Dawn, which was supposed to be released by both Gothic Records (US) and Candlelight Records (UK) but never happened. One of the EP’s tracks, Velvet of the Godless appeared on the Nuclear Blast compilation Death…Is Just the Beginning III and impressed the label enough to sign them for a debut full-length recording and extensive worldwide touring. However, things did not turn out for the best.

In August 1994, the bands toured the West Coast and Mexico supporting their two releases and were preparing songs for their first album. By April 1995, the conflicts amongst the members of DIVINE EVE were so hostile, they disbanded immediately. Hammack instantly relocated to California and recorded the debut DIVINE EVE album under a new banner calling it CRIMSON RELIC. He was accompanied by drummer Rhett Davis of MORIGON and signed to the Nuclear Blast subsidiary Radiation Records. However, with poor sales and reviews, CRIMSON RELIC’s future was halted due to not holding up the capacity of what DIVINE EVE songs held.

Sleavin and Killen went on to form INFERNAL OAK in 1995 with Geoffrey Sawicky…Until they decided to dissolve in 2003.

In 2008 DIVINE EVE reformed with a partial original line up! Currently we all have other projects but there will be new recordings of old and new material! This is long awaited unfinished business… We Hail all those who support Old School Doom Death Metal!