Gonna Be Worse

Slovakian grindcore on Obscene; you know what you’re getting here. The self anointed ‘mincecore’ of Abortion, while not as eviscerating as label mates Squash Bowels and with a irreverent sense of catchy humor, Abortion aren’t doing anything too special but it will probably please most die hard fans.

With a classic Napalm Death/Carcass sound including a very Colin Richardson sounding production, Abortion wade through 23 expectedly short grindcore stabs, with a few lengthier exceptions (‘NWO’, ‘Filth’) towards the end of the album. Bursting with power chords, blast beats and grooves each of the tracks fills expected grindcore structures admirably even if hardly original. The actual pacing and song style, especially considering the irreverent humor (‘Icky Ficky’, ‘Slut City’, ‘Heavy Mental’) isn’t too far removed from Blood Duster, just without the porn and movie samples (Abortion do use Monty Python samples though). Amid the blasting there are a few rudimentary but entertaining breaks of lumbering death metal (‘Money is Your God’, ‘NWO’), and I could do without the 5 minutes of feedback provided by ‘Filth’, but generally Abortion crank out the moderately ‘catchy’, punky grindcore as displayed on ‘False Babble’, ‘Keep It Silent’ ‘Fucking Ignorant’ and ‘Pig Power’. The vocals are the usual ineligible guttural growls mixed with painful screams and fit nicely into the grindcore pantheon, with only the raucous ‘Last Drink’ and ‘Heavy Mental’ deviating from the usual fare.

Abortion are hardly a must hear Eastern European grindcore act as they are not nearly as brutal as Squash Bowels, Malignant Tumor or Alienation Mental and their slightly humorous take on grindcore similar to Neuropathia, takes some off the edge of their sound, despite giving them some character. Still, as grindcore goes, a satisfying offering from the ever reliable Eastern European grindcore contingency.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 6th, 2004


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise
  • Downcross - White Tower