Echoes of the Future

I’m new to Spanish veterans Æolian, but after hearing Echoes of the Future, they, like the recent KING I covered, are one of those bands where I instantly pre-order the album and then go back and purchase the entire back catalog. Fuck this is good. I mean from start to finish, every note and exquisitely crated riff is absolutely top-fucking-notch.

Though playing melodic death/black metal, Æolian culls from every corner of the genre, and I mean every corner. Early on it is the furious, slicing blackened Dissection-ish throes of opener “Hominis Obscura”, dancing, gorgeous classic Dark Tranquillity melodies of the second track “Dream of Reality”, even the more modern In Flames commercial viability of “The Miracle”.

But man, some of the album’s mid and late songs are utterly brilliant. You get some tightly wound At The Gates styled hack and slash riffs of “Her Grief”, with a gorgeous little piano break. Then “Like a Blackened Sun” (my personal favorite) delivers some superb blackened tremolo-picked melodies that you might hear on a Vinland album. Another standout (all of the tracks are really) “Into the Flames” is well, more In Flames-inspired goodness but from the band’s Whoracle/Colony era, with a little more ferocity and an addictive, layered gait.

The album’s back end continues to deliver more killer highlights whether it’s the moody, mid-paced “Lords of Greed”, the energetic Ebony Tears imbuing title track (with a fucking gorgeous little brass section-despite the surprisingly bad video above), or the sweeping 11-minute Disillusion style ambition of the closing “Chronicles of the Fall”.

There simply isn’t a bad or even average song on the album and as a result, it is for sure going to be one of my favorite albums of 2023.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 18th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise