Amber Asylum
Still Point

With a few rare exceptions, Profound Lore generally pushes the extremes of whatever genre they release and deliver superb examples of anything they touch (Profundi, Wold, The Angelic Process, Alcest, Asunder, Cobalt, Nadja). And while, not ‘extreme’ per say, Amber Asylum’s fifth album, pushes the limits and boundaries of the neo-goth/classical genre with a simply awe inspiring album of elegantly somber and hypnotically depressive music.

As most of you know Amber Asylum is the brainchild of Kris Force, who has recorded with such luminaries as Swans and Neurosis, and for this album is assisted by Liz Allbee, John Cobbett (Ludicra, Slough Feg, Hammers of Misfortune), Rosalind Gratz, Jackie Perez Gratz (Grayceon, Asunder, Giant Squid), Tim Green, Eric Peterson, Sarah Schaffer and Lorraine Rath. The end result is a delicate, ebbing album of acoustic textures, string accompaniments, ethereal female vocals and a mood of despondent beauty than will engulf you and mesmerize you into a transcendental world of evocative ambience.

Not an album to dissect track by track, Still Point is one of those high art albums that requires a certain mood or frame of mind; a dusky forest in the fall, a black velvet curtained room lit only by candles or a stark castle chamber; anything to absolve you of all thought and stimuli and allow say the introspective shimmer of “Diminishing Returns”, the cover of Richard Thompson’s “The Great Valerio” or the sadness drenched “North” to lull you into a melancholic slumber.

While Amber Asylum would be a more perfect fit on say Prophecy Productions of Equilibrium Music, they are right at home of Profound Lore who seem to at any time deliver the elite of a chosen genre, and in the annals of the ambient/ neo folk/classical genre, Amber Asylum stand alone; despondent, dolorous, brilliant.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 3rd, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold