Ares Kingdom

Here’s a nice sophomore album from a couple of former Order From Chaos members (Mike Miller and Chuck Keller), and while the other Order From Chaos member, Pete Helmkamp has gone for the throat with his post Order From Chaos projects (Angelcorpse and the recent Kerasphorus EP), Ares Kingdom are content to deliver metal that’s purely rooted in old school death/thrash metal reminiscent of Possessed, Celtic Frost and such.

What gives Ares Kingdom a lot of its nostalgia is the gruff but not growled vocals of Alex Blume and the use of frequent solos that drench the effort in a whole late 80’s vibe and honesty that’s not over produced or focused entirely on one single element or genre.

Most of the albums highlights are the tracks that deliver some nifty old school melodic solos and catchy, steady, thrashing, grumbling metal such as the title track, rangy “Descent of Man”, “Silent Mortal Flesh (Convergence)” and “Ashen Glory”, in fact the albums whole first half. But when the band tries to turn up the intensity and menace (“Beasts that Perish”, “Abandon In Place”) and render some more deathly blast beats, it begins the waver and simply lacks that bite to make it convincing. That stuff is best left to Helmkamp.

The dry, simple production is effective in being old school but still carrying the weight of the music without being forced or overly retro. However, as a whole, the album, with its longer that usual songs does tend to start wheezing and huffing in its later stages, with less memorable moments and some rather filler acoustic moments and interludes. But that doesn’t make the rest of the albums energy any less enjoyable and a nice few tracks of solid old school death/thrash metal that’s a pleasant change from über brutality, triggered drums and breakdowns.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
May 10th, 2010


  1. Commented by: Dan

    Nuclear War Now! is fucking awesome. I highly recommend checking out Midnight and Blasphemophagher as well from that label.

  2. Commented by: vugelnox

    this band can do no wrong, 10/10

  3. Commented by: Staylow

    This album fucking kills.

  4. Commented by: Morris

    Great album and a killer live band. They’re definitely worthy of receiving more exposure.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream