Astral Domine
Arcanum Gloriae

Astral Domine is an Italian power metal band and Arcanum Gloriae is their debut album.  After a huge build up instrumental/intro, “Holy Nights” comes on with an acoustic opening before going into a cool power metal infused double bass gallop. Guitars sound really good and so do the keyboards.

The emphasis throughout the album is symphonic and while I enjoy those aspects, they kind of take center stage a bit too much, when I would have rather heard faster power metal songs. Ok, back to the song. Around the 3 minute mark there is a catchy chorus and huge backing vocals.  Song is mostly slower paced and really over the top, with some falsetto vocals etc… “Tale of the Elves and Pain” has a slow opening, than goes to mid paced and eventually faster paced power metal territory.  The singer, Marco, sounds like Bruce Dickinson, just with an Italian accent.  There are some nice Helloween inspired guitar solos on this too.

“Welcome To My Reign” is pretty symphonic and the 2.20 part is very nice with the keyboards and the song than goes into more mid paced territory with well done double bass and guitar solos.  “King of North” is a brilliant power metal tune which is mostly fast paced, which is how I prefer my power metal to sound, I just wish their were more tracks like this.

The production is well done, everything sounds good, and no instrument overtakes another. The booklet is thick with band photos and lyrics.  The band follows the power metal format with fantasy/Tolkien inspired lyrics.  This is a very good debut album and I’m hoping for more power to the metal on their next album and less symphonic arrangements, but that’s just my preference.  If you dig this sort of music add Arcanum Gloriae to your collection, it will bring a smile to your face, which is what power metal does for me all the time, unless is sucks.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
July 16th, 2014


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal
  • Hideous Divinity - Unextinct
  • Exhorder - Defectum Omnium
  • Obscura Qalma - Veils Of Transcendence EP
  • Stiriah - Portal