Luciferin Valo

When I looked at the promo copy of the new album and saw the first track was “Black Terror Metal” I thought this was a compilation cd, I have a demo tape by that name. It turns out to be a re-recording of the classic song. Luciferin Valo is the 22nd Azaghal release in my possession, which kind of surprised me. Granted many of those are split releases and demo tapes, but that is still a large output since 1998. The other thing that surprised me was that I had so many releases from a band I don’t really consider myself a big fan of. I seem to acquire each new release out of habit, yet I always enjoy them. Luciferin Valo is no exception.

As for style, this is classic Finnish black metal, with its emphasis on simple, unencumbered riffs that pull you through the music with ease. Once again Azaghal proves that the best direction to look for quality black metal is backwards, composing ten more retro would be classics for digestion by rabid fans.

If you count yourself among the faithful grab this one up, if by some cruel twist of fate you have never heard Azaghal, now is a good time to give it a try. Quality Finnish metal is on display once again. Favorite tracks include “Ilmestyskirjan Ratsastajat” “Hyvästit Maailmalle” and “Azaghal Terror Cult.”

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
September 13th, 2006


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu