Call for Blood
Call for Blood EP

Shall we get the gimmicks out the way? Call for Blood are a beatdown mob from Switzerland, and they have a girl singing, I know it’s unusual, but there you go, now down to business.

Their self titled debut  EP for Conatus (who formerly released records by Unholy Matrimony and Weeping Birth) is blunt and to the point. It focuses on their strengths and to their credit doesn’t reveal any overly notable weaknesses that detract from what they are trying to do, which is, quite simply to play straight up, Euro-Beatdown with some very slight metal influences and plenty (although not verging on Killwhitneydead standards) of moody film samplings.

The opening war cry and aptly titled “Call for Blood,” stoically, even faithfully does what it’ supposed to, set the pace, get the blood pumping and then (if you will) spinkick wherever you may be at that given time. The production has got girth and resonates warmly so that adds the band’s delivery which is essential for beatdown, nothing worse than having your most crushing moments sound callow.

For that fact, Call for Blood never sound callow, and never pull a punch from track to track, focusing on delivering each killer blow with precision such as on the rumbling “Wrong way,” and the menacing “Brutal too.” Olivia’s vocals are impressive even if they mirror one of the band’s primary influences (Nasty from Belgium) a little too closely at times. Given that a woman singing for a metal or a hardcore band is not a new phenomenon, it still does raise eyebrows and I give the girl credit, she has a strong set of pipes.


Call for Blood are not out to reinvent or push any boundaries, they play honestly and from the gut and whilst the results are satisfyingly face smashing, they will need to continue developing their skills to challenge the heavy hitters of Euro-Beatdown.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Benjamin DeBlasi
December 9th, 2009


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu