Conflagrate the Celestial Refugium

In folklore/mythology, a cambion is the unholy offspring of a Succubus or Incubus and a human sexing it up. In this case, for this particular Cambion, the Succubus is The Netherlands’ Centurian (yes, I made Centurian the female sex-demon in this scenario) and that human vessel is Pete Helmkamp of Angelcorpse/Abhomine fame as this Texas act is pure, unrelenting Angelcorpse worship.

Cambion consists of two ex Reign of Terror chaps,  “R.O” (bass/vocals) and “T.R” (guitar/vocals), and drummer Cheston Westmoreland, more known for his work in more tech-death bands like Burning The Masses, Equipoise, and such, but also Hate Eternal. And while this has a clinical, tech-death tone and production, the 38-minute whirlwind is a nasty tornado or razor-sharp, unforgiving blackened death nastiness.

There isn’t much more to say really. If you like Angecorpse or Abhomine, this is a no-brainer for you. It sneers, snaps, and snarls like a pissed-off mob of bath-salt eating wolverines, but they have guitars, bass, a mic, and drums. From the immediate throttle of the title track through “Vae Victus”, vicious “Cambion”, “Impact Steel”, “Eiton Euclarion” and “Fatalism”, there is little refrain from the assault, other than a few slower militant marches here and there.

That said, 9 minute closer “Obscuratio” sarts with a few minutes of ambient atmospherics, and then delivers an lengthy, instrumental bookend to the album, that even has a solo, that shows, they can take slow down the sonic throat fucking ever so slightly if they choose.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
May 12th, 2021


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP