Carnal Rapture
Promo 2008

The little bit I did gather from the long-ass, convoluted bio for Italy’s Carnal Rapture is that they’ve been around in one form or another since 1992. What they play on the mysteriously titled Promo 2008 is a mid-paced, jazzy tech death that is all twisted, turning, and lopsided with mid-range scratchy growls that fall flat after about two minutes.

I swear, I’ve listened to this album 10 times and every single time I get halfway through and forget that I’m even listening to it because very little ever jumps out at you. I mean if you really pay attention you’ll hear some cool instrumental flourishes, like the Cynic-esque melody during the latter half of “Precious Time” (it really is quite beautiful) or the angular hook (kind of) of “Caught off Guard.” The vocals of guitarist Emilio Trillo are boring as hell though; no two ways about it. As I alluded to above, his patterning blends into the mix in a way that seemingly causes his voice to evaporate, that is, until the cigarette in your hand drops on your crotch and you wake up again to realize that you’re reviewing a CD. I’m only exaggerating a little bit. I will admit that every once in a while it seems like Carnal Rapture could have been a contender.

So beyond the occasional semi-gripping moment, there just isn’t very damn much to grab hold of here. Yeah, yeah, the bubbling, acrobatic bass and percussive rhythms are rather cool and nothing outright sucks, except for maybe those unmoving vocals. But nothing outright shines either. I’m all about letting an album grow to reveal its true magic, but 10 times? Get the fuck outta here!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Scott Alisoglu
September 2nd, 2009


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu