Cattle Decapitation
The Anthropocene Extinction

Cattle Decapitation is a group that has definitely earned a reputation for themselves with a career spanning nineteen years and with six full length releases on their belts they have truly knocked the ball out of the park with their 2015 release The Anthropocene Extinction. Conceptually focusing on The Anthropocene Era, Cattle Decapitation has created a forty six minute metal record that resonates of a period of time when human beings had the most profound negative effect on the earth. Buckle yourselves in for an album that pushes the limits of extremity and extrapolates itself as it continues.

The album opener “Manufactured Extinct” is a very anthemic march that builds into classic Cattle Decapitation styled chaos with Travis Ryan’s trademark vocals enunciating every syllable with a tenacious delivery and with enough variety throughout the whole record.  Ryan’s clean vocals are really the only thing that bothers me about the album and maybe for me it is just that they feel like they are placed in similar positions throughout each song on the album.  They are not terrible but to me it is sort of how they are used in a band like Fleshgod Apocalypse where I don’t necessarily the need for it on every song but again there have been worse clean vocals on worse albums and this is more just a small observation.

Josh Elmore’s lead work is on point.  His arpeggio laden sweeps are picked clean and add to the trademark atmosphere that is a kin to Cattle Decapitation and their past efforts. David Mcgraw’s drum work is absolutely vicious start to finish and his unbelievable chops are on full display through all of The Anthropocene Extinction. “Prophets of Loss’ has almost a Norwegian black metal vibe about it akin to maybe Keep of Kalessin or 1349 but then builds into intense breakdown sections that lead to great groove sections and then circle back into relentless Cattle Decapitation aggression.

“Pacific Grim” the album ender not only has a catchy title but also is one of the most straightforward songs on The Anthropocene Extinction.  I cannot emphasis enough how solid Mcgraw’s drumming is throughout this album.  Cattle Decapitation remind me of Aborted in that way in that they seem to continue to be able to keep their music unbelievably quick while still keeping enough variety from song to song to keep a full length record interesting.

Metal Blade Records has had a busy 2015 this year and this album is definitely one of the best things that has come out on the label this year and can say for me this is first Cattle Decapitation that has had me hooked and I think it is a matter of just how well these guys have jelled for so many years and have continued to perfect their craft.  This one will be releasing shortly and is definitely worth the investment. Cattle Decapitation has been consistently pushing the boundaries in their approach to extreme music and The Anthropocene Extinction stands out amongst the flock.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
August 3rd, 2015


  1. Commented by: gabaghoul

    soon looking fwd to hearing this

  2. Commented by: jesusgod

    Could never stand this band. Nothing about them ever made them stand out from the masses.

  3. Commented by: Gabaghoul

    You didn’t hear the last one did you?

  4. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Dont feed the troll guys

  5. Commented by: Zach

    They are one of the best extreme metal bands around. I believe they have made another masterpiece. This band simply kills!!!

  6. Commented by: Luke_22

    Sensational album. I wasn’t a fan of their earlier work but like many I was converted through Monolith and this album continues in the same vein of forward thinking extremity. Great stuff.

  7. Commented by: Brutalicon

    Fuck, this is a great album. Would rank it as a favorite for the year. I’ve been a fan since Human Jerky (guy that ran Satan’s Pimp worked with me at a local co-op, only reasons heard of them then). I thought they were pretty standard death metal/grind until Karma.Bloody.Karma. That showed a little bit of change. Harvest Floor really showed of some good songs and after that pretty much everyone agrees that they clicked.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP