Triunity Split

Splits are always an enjoyable listen, regardless if one or more of the bands on the micro compilation are even halfway decent. It’s always been a terrific way to sample typically unknown bands in small doses and because the listener will usually be treated to multiple songs from each band, splits are almost always more beneficial than major label compilations. Sometimes you’ll hear a song from a band on a compilation, think they have plenty of potential, and then eventually be let down because their other songs are quite trashy. It happens all the time.

However, the split is a perfect and inexpensive way to sample a few bands with multiple tracks and Triunity is no different. Triunity is a three-way split between three Slavonic bands in an attempt to both entertain and educate the listeners about the three bands’ backgrounds. The basis of the project between Oprich (Russia), Piarevaracien (Belarus) and Chur (Ukraine) is to express historical solidarity of their nations and underline the uniqueness of their collective heritages. The Slavonic nations have a detailed history of struggle and quarrels between them, but Triunity is hoping that this musical unity will further bolster a common bond for a greater good that has evidently been growing between the nations.

It’s a great cause to bring three nations together through music and luckily for the bands on this split, the nine songs (three from each band) are an enjoyable listen. Though not a single word is spoken in English which in turn makes it impossible to understand what is being sung, the music behind the vocals is emotive and passionate enough to offset this minor setback (it’s not like anybody can understand the vast majority of death metal “singers” anyway, so what does it matter if the songs are sung in one of the Slavonic tongues?).

Musically, the three bands employ a more subdued approach to the typical folk/pagan style of metal that has taken the world by storm the past five or so years, but they aren’t as metallic or heavy as the Moonsorrows, Tyrs, Crimfalls or Korpiklaanis of the world. Rather, the trio found on Triunity is more parallel to someone like Heidevolk, though slightly more acoustic. All three bands sound very similar to one another, though Chur is the least metallic of the trio. You’ll hear plenty of traditional Slavonic instruments, too, like the flute, sopilka, zhaleyka, djolomiga and drymba along with the usual guitars/drums/bass/keyboards.

Overall, the feel and ambience of the music is colorful and it allows the listener to fully ingest the sounds and atmosphere from their part of the world. Crafty musicianship is coupled with a sonic delivery that eases the listener into a state of relaxation and the moods that sweep across the nine songs range from happy/hopeful to sorrow/dreariness and back again. The lyrics, if they were understood by these ears, would probably make an even stronger impact on the songs, but considering that it is what it is, the collection of songs on this three-way split are enjoyable, if not wholly spectacular.

Triunity is definitely not for everybody, but for a quaint change of pace – especially one that can infuse some culture from lands most will not visit – it does a remarkable job. The music is easy to get into and since it’s not overly complex, the tempo changes and song structures will stick with the listener for a while. Triunity is definitely something to scoop up if you’re the type of metalhead who is constantly looking to hear new things.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Mike Sloan
August 20th, 2012


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness