Cold Colors

Minnesota’s Cold Colours return with their fifth full length release Northernmost.  Cold Colours play a style of death doom akin to old Peaceville bands like Paradise Lost or Anathema mixed in with elements of Dark Metal akin to older Samael with maybe just a tinge of Sentenced in there as well.

Having been releasing albums since 2000 this group has put in a great deal into their craft and honing their sound.   Having been around since 1995 and having a history over 20 years this group is clearly passionate about putting together this type of sound.  Northernmost was mixed and recorded by Drummer Mike Andrie and was mastered by the legend Dan Swano at Unisound in Sweden.

Northernmost is very well arranged with four different classical instrumental pieces breaking up the album throughout.  At nearly an hour of material there is quite a bit of Death/Doom to Enjoy here. “Terminal Winter” is definitely my favorite song on the record and has all of the hooks you would want in a band that plays this style. Vocalist Brian Huebner does an excellent job with variety throughout the album. He definitely has a bite to his harsh vocals akin to bands like Swallow the Sun or Insomnium. Bassist Jaden Adair’s clean vox add a nice contrast. As strange as this sounds I can also hear some influence from the group The Gathering.

You definitely would have to be a fan of this genre to sit and listen to it stop to finish.  It is quite somber at times and some of the arrangements to some listeners may be a bit drawn out.   My personal tastes aside and knowing how hard this band works and how many releases they have put out makes me see the growth of Cold Colours.   Maybe not the harshest or heaviest form of doom out there but unique.  Check it out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
March 29th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu