Kingdom EP

Predating their forthcoming debut full-length, Sigillum Luciferi on Richmond, Virginia’s Forcefield Records, is the four-song Kingdom EP by sludge monkeys Cough. Setting out to be the “loudest and heaviest band in Richmond,” this four-piece adds more depth to the subgenre alongside Cavity, Bongzilla, and Hawg Jaw.

Beginning with Iron Monkey-ish feedback, “The Misanthrope” lopes along with a retarded Electric Wizard gait, while “How to Survive Beneath the Earth” mixes Melvins-esque breaks and Theory of Ruin-like guitar tones with vocalist Chris Kirby’s Quintaine Americana-styled drawl, repeated monotonously for the final two minutes.

With David Cisco’s bloodied axe wailing throughout, “288 Years of Sin” again invokes Iron Monkey before tearing into harsher vocals and jagged riffage like the Abominable Iron Sloth. “As You Were” sports the thunderous, stuttering cadence of -16- then Torche for the first half, then changes tempos to induce an ugly, proto-Eyehategod afterbirth of sludge and filth. If this EP is any indication of the band’s potential, then Cough should be closely watched later this year when their new album is let loose upon all ye doomfarers.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Chris Ayers
February 22nd, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Viogression - Perception Blur
  • Ad Vitam Infernal - Infernal Comedy
  • Fluisteraars - Bloem
  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron