Eternal Jewel

When Brian Danilowski isn’t plucking his bass in Baltimore math-metallists Trephine, he straddles the time/space continuum with his experimental/noise solo project Darsombra. 2006’s Ecdysis only hinted at what was to come from this creative soul, as the new Eternal Jewel wraps the listener around sheer volume, both layered and frayed.

“Auguries” resembles a classical-styled (with chant-like voices) intro to some power-metal anthem, though at less than three minutes, it serves as an apt preface to the symphony within. The seventeen-minute opus “Night’s Black Agents” employs a psychedelic pedal effect last heard in Led Zeppelin’s “Into the Light,” slowly pulsing like a dying star, then morphing into enveloping drone like a drumless 5ive. The uplifting “Drops of Sorrow” loops melodic, Robert Fripp-ish chords into an almost palpable soundscape, redolent with otherworldly fragrance and texture.

The aforementioned chants and classical vibe are reprised in “Lamentings/Auguries,” expanding into Pink Floyd-like harmonies with doom overtones at the coda. “Incarnadine” shimmers like Justin Broadrick’s less aggressive songs with Godflesh, namely “Flowers” from 1994’s Merciless EP. Darsombra won’t dazzle any dyed-in-the-wool metalheads, but Eternal Jewel is reserved for those who appreciate the simple pleasure of losing themselves in the substantive noise of headphone space.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Chris Ayers
March 3rd, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom
  • Cryptic Brood - Outcome of Obnoxious Science
  • Visceral Disgorge - Slithering Evisceration
  • Psychomancer - Shards of the Hourglass
  • Infidel Reich - Reichenstein
  • Brothers of Metal - Embla's Saga