Deathspell Omega
Fas-Ite, Malidicti In Ignem Aeternum

While Kenose was only my first introduction to Deathspell Omega, it had me hooked instantly and solidified the band into blacks metal’s elite after Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice, the album that saw this French band progress and evolve from standard black metal to their current, labyrinthine, deformed, and twisted take on black metal.

As Good as I thought Kenose was, Fas, is just on a whole new level of serpentine, disturbing and transcendental, shimmering black malevolence and brilliance. After the intro “Obombration” (which serves as the title of the outro also), the opening track alone “The Shrine of Mad Laughter” (arguably one of the most amazing songs of the year), bursts forth from the speakers like 10 different black metal albums playing at once, while a hornets nest spews forth its angry contents. It is truly ‘order from chaos’ with its violent almost indecipherable cacophony, but yet undulating, tangibly menacing and on some perverse level, sickening precise. And that’s before the songs mid point descent into ambient psychosis, tortured angelic cries and nerve wrecking few moments of closing silence. It’s this mix of rabid black metal furor and the well utilized, often paralyzing ambient segues that make Fas stick with you deep into your psyche. Sure, many black metal bands mix up ambience and antagonism, (Blud Aus Nord, Negura Bunget, Shining, Xasthur, etc) but Deathspell Omega have the art down pat, mixing the sheer violence of say Antaeus with the suicidal, horror filled ambience of Leviathan.

“Bread of Bitterness” follows suite but adds a layer of demented orchestration and chanting to the mix and again with the tension inducing silence to close the track as you brace for the onslaught. Instead, you are greeted with the lurching, atonal lope of “The Repellent Scars of Abandon And Election” that starts as if it could be the blues or jazz as if it were played in a backstreet bar of some alternate hell before erupting with the foul gusts of chaotic seething grandeur personified. The dreamy start to “A Chore For The Lost” is rudely (and sleep shatteringly) interrupted by an explosion of oppressive disharmony and swirling vortex while vocalist with Mikko Aspa unleashes his most poisonous and varied effort on the album.

Ultimately Fas-Ite, Malidicti In Ignem Aeternum is uncompromisingly vitriolic yet sublimely structured with misanthropic layering and depth. It results in what looks to be the black metal album, with possibly the exception of the new Leviathan swansong, that all other black metal albums of 2007 will be judged against and they will fail miserably.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 13th, 2007


  1. Commented by: fightingmike

    I can appreciate that these guys are striving to create something this depressive and evil, but i can’t imagine anyone really enjoying listening to this record. It is definately progressive, challenging, and creative, but i dont like the mood it puts me in and i cant get into it. There is none of the beautiful wonderous elements of a band like Negura Bunget to break up the negative vibe of these songs. Not into this.

  2. Commented by: bast

    This band: pure genius, cannot wait for the third part.

  3. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    Listening for the first time since my return to black metal. this album is fucking hell. as scary as any Axis Of perdition release. amazing.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge