Disharmonia Mundi
Fragments of D-Generation

Someone forgot to tell Scarlet Records that melodic death metal was dead, what with Withering Surface’s Force the Pace and this high octane little number, they seem in denial to admit the relative complacency of the genre. What makes Italy’s Disarmonia Mundi so interesting is the presence of Soilwork’s Bjorn Strid on vocals, and realistically he’s in a side project that displays more energy and venom than his full time band.Now don’t get me wrong, Fragments… isn’t a world beater and doesn’t bring a whole lot new to the table, but what it does do, is rock pretty hard with modern thrash take on Melodic death metal that’s vigorously driving and ripe with energy, despite all the clichés: clean choruses, dual galloping guitars, synths, etc. And while Strid’s other band seems content to wallow in mid paced catchiness, Disarmonia Mundi are actually raising the stakes with a far more vigorous take on the genre. As expected from this style, the production is absolutely razor sharp, you could slice of a finger on the guitar tone, and the rhythm section is blissfully tense in rendering the tracks tighter than Anna Nicole Smith’s bra strap. Granted, there’s a few instances of Soilwork-ish like wispiness (“Red Clouds”, “Oceangrave”, “Colors of A New Era”), but other wise the album consists of frenetic, ‘Dew Scented with sense of melody and variety’ type pace that’s infectiously catchy and often blisteringly melodic, without pandering too much willowy fret play. The classic In Flames opening and chorus of “Quicksand Symmetry” is about as additively energetic as anything in the overplayed genre and it mixes the familiar with the new to appeal to fans of a classic sound as well as those tired of it.

The thrash like pacing veneered with clever harmonies is typified by tracks like opener “Common Sate of Inner Violence” and “Swallow the Flames”, while the bouncy yet forceful groove of “A Mirror Behind” commands head bobbing, and air guitar dramatics. “Come Forth My Dreadful One” is a classic In Flames/Dark Tranquility menagerie of driving riffs and svelte melodies mixed to thrashing perfection. In fact, with multiple listens, the album grew on me immensely, giving me perfect solace from metal core saturation or grindcore, but without sacrificing dynamism or energy, as Disarmonia Mundi have a pristine yet feral approach to complement their obvious melodic tendencies. The synths of guitarist/band founder Ettore Rigotti are understated, with a futuristic lean, and never take away from the music.

The presence of Strid should give this surprising debut (not including their self released 2002 effort, Nebularium) album some clout in a scene in dire need of an injection of energy, and hopefully bands like Disarmonia Mundi as well as Denmark’s Detonation and Withering Surface can keep the flag flying apparently abandoned by the Swedes

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
May 17th, 2004


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal
  • Hideous Divinity - Unextinct
  • Exhorder - Defectum Omnium