Drain The Sky
Haunted By Rivers

I hate it when bands try too hard. In the case of Drain The Sky’s album Haunted By Rivers, the band is trying too hard to sound creepy and intense, but all they manage to muster is boring. It’s a noisy mish-mash of blast beats, slow (trying to be) creepy passages and dissonance. They’re trying to create moods, I get that. They’re just not doing a very convincing job.

The sonics are good all around. The guitars and drums sound very good and the mix is solid. The vocals are all over the place from Tiamat-like throaty whispers to screams. The song titles are a little contrived…”A Fragile Mind”, “Sightless”, “Starving In Time”…trying to hard, again. It’s apparent that the band is made up of good musicians, it’s just that what’s on offer here is lacking…something.

There was just nothing outstanding on this album for me that would inspire repeated listens, let alone enjoyment. It’s dull, lifeless and sometimes chuckle-inducing. If you’re thinking of buying this, try and find a way to listen to if first…you can thank me later.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
June 10th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Edenic Past - Red Amarcord
  • Mitochondrial Sun - Sju Pulsarer
  • Abiotic - Ikigai
  • Basilica - Basilica
  • Korpse - Insufferable Violence
  • Incursion - The Hunter EP
  • Sarvekas - Of Atavistic Fury & Visions EP
  • Marasmus - Necrotic Overlord
  • Aylwin - The Arch Holder
  • GWAR - Scumdogs of The Nniverse 30th Anniversary Remix
  • Old Growth - Mossweaver
  • Frozen Soul - Crypt of ice
  • Buried - Oculus Rot
  • Wolves Den - Miserere
  • Evil - Possessed By Evil