Infinite Regress

When the former vocalist of Internal Bleeding and current teethofthedivine staffer recommends a band and album for me, I usually take notice, even if released in 2013. Especially when I’ve been in a real brutal death metal/slam death metal frame of mind of late, and Frank Rini pretty well eats and breathes the style. Even more so when the band has former and current members of Pyrexia, Aurora Borealis and Waking the Cadaver in its ranks ( don’t let that last one deter you).

And slam we have. With a distinctly Pyrexia/Dying Fetus sound (including production and guitar tone) that’s part blast beats, three way throaty hardcore ish roars and John Gallagher -ish bellows and a whole lot of groove. Despite the name Embludgeonment, is actually a rather melodic/creative take on slam, that isn’t utterly  over the top slammy (a la Necrambulant), but adds a few solos and solid controlled and blasting riffage to the mix.

Though clocking in at only 28 minutes, enough good stuff is crammed in here to make it feel a little longer, and like the recently re-issued Dyscarnate album, this thing just oozes palpable  power and heft. The likes of “Morbid Fixation”, “Judas Complex”,”Intrusive Pure O” and “Denomination Debauchery”, invoke the kind of feeling that makes you car mosh and do stupid ape like staggering in your basement when no one is looking (I hope that’s not just me).

It’s not original or ground breaking, but it’s not a pure knuckle dragger either, as it’s got a little bit of character here and there as evidenced in the extended Floridan solos in surprisingly melodic “Judas Complex”, “Dead End’s Own” and closer “Binary Interstitiality”, adding just a bit of flair to the blast furnace beat down of the material.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 1st, 2014


  1. Commented by: F.Rini

    Great review, Erik. Yep they do mix some styles up and it’s a decent debut.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu