Empire of the Scourged
Transcend into Oblivion EP

For the most part, Cyber or Industrial Death Metal has a pretty rigid formula: Beefy, chunky guitars, mechanical pounding drums and the odd whirr or beep and sample here and there with some growled vocals. The Netherlands’ Empire of the Scourged, while generally following those paradigms also manage to changes things up a bit on their noisy, 25 minute debut EP.

The 5 songs contained on the EP are a more brutal, atonal take of cyber metal with less predictable, chunky-ness and a more distorted, deconstructive sound. The samples and cyber synths are more quirky and discordant, as are the riffs. Like a robot gone haywire or faulty wiring leading to a cacophony of off key beeps and hums, the songs are far more chaotic then most of there brethren, but it works.

Tracks like “Hollow Machinations of the Foul Spirited” , “Foul Machinations of a Hollow Spirit”  and “Trapped in This Massive Process”  (with its pounding programmed drum break) sound like HAL ( 2001: A Space Odyssey) or Mother (Alien) going ballistic and having a techno rave while brutal goregrind plays in the back ground. It’s quite disconcerting, but certainly unique and occasionally a ethereal, robotic female voice chimes in adding to the disconnected brutally. Closer ” A Scarred Horizon” is a six minute track that reigns things in a bit into  more traditional structured cyber/industrial death metal but is still riddled with off kilter programming and shattering glass synths.

While most cyber metal has this clinical, futuristic, sheen and robotic hum and pace, Empire of the Scourged has rendered a more dystopian sound of rust, decay and technology run amok.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 21st, 2014


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness