The Infinite Nothing

What’s this you say? a female fronted tech death metal/ djenty/modern death metal supergroup featuring former members of Animosity ( a must have from the early 00s deathcore scene), Animals as Leaders (Navene Koperweis) and The Faceless (Evan Brewer)? Well, color me interested….

While certainly The Faceless and Animosity influences ( as well as many modern bands like TexturesVeil of Maya, Periphery etc) are clearest in this album’s polyrhythmic  stuttering, staggering  (and lengthy) 8  songs, there is a clear level of more pure, futuristic tech death also abound and a more adventurous sense of experimentation than the members previous bands.  It’s still all very modern, clinical and sterile,  but that fits well within the cyber/sci fi vibe rendered with some synths, beeps and whirs here and there.

Growler Chaney Crabb is impressive as a growler and screamer, In fact i had no Idea it was a female until I started researching the band for the review. Also,   there are no Iwrestledabearonce-y clean vocals to bring anything into more sugary Sumerian Records, commerical pastures. There are however some nicely done ‘clean’ moments musically such as the half way point of the 8 minute “An Ever Expanding Human” or the little bass bridge  in “New Light” or the title track. But mostly tracks like opener “Perpetual Misconceptions” or the title track again, add little sci fi injections or spacey solos amid  pretty bludgeoning salvos of twisty, bass slappy, breakdowny, but intelligently crafted, otherworldy, tech metal.

Some lurching pacing arrives to start “Bad Chemicals”,  and “Mind Alone” is a pure bruiser until weird little ‘skipping record, mangled tape’ ambient tangent to close. The aptly named “Neural Damage” closes the album with more emphasis on oddball synths.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 6th, 2016


  1. Commented by: Ace Barker


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon