Extermination Order
The Siege of Ascalon EP

One look at the Realms of Chaos/War Master Era Bolt Thrower-inspired logo from the multinational (mostly Germany, Iceland, USA) act, Extermination Order, and you know exactly what you are getting with the 5 songs on the war themed EP, The Siege of Ascalon.

Throw in the fact that 2/3 of the German contingent of Extermination Order is former and current Heaven Shall Burn members (who at times were themselves very inspired by Bolt Thrower and Extermination Order is the name of a  song from their Wanderer album), which should further cement the sound you will hear when hitting play. Do I need to say it again? Yeah, it’s Bolt Thrower (OK, maybe some Heaven Shall Burn). Should I even mention they have a female bass player (Gyða Hrund) too, or would that be just overkill?

Anyways, you get the idea. The 5 mid-paced songs trundle with double bass-filled, teeth-rattling, inside-a-tank, war-mongering fervor, and drip with that same somber sense of melody that both Bolt Thrower and HSB had/have. The opening Crusades-themed title track is the clear and obvious centerpiece with the astutely named”Cadmean Victory”, “An Iron Shroud” and “Anon We are Fallen” all being damn good at the Bolt Thrower thing as well.  The closing cover of Napalm Death‘s “Siege of Power” is the only track that breaks rank with its obviously more grindcore/punk pace.

The vocals of John Gahlert are a little gruffer than his other current and former more metalcore/melo-death projects (Deadlock, Fall of Serenity, Soulgate’s Dawn) and the overall production has a nice beefy rumble to it.

Topped of with some killer Elian Kantor artwork (Heaven Shall Burn, Gutslit, Hate Eternal, Sigh Etc) this EP is really solid stuff that should hold you over until Frozen Souls’ Glacial Domination drops later this year, and signal the entrance of a legit player into the Bolt Thrower worship sweepstakes.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 14th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon