Eyes of Eden

Waldemar Sorychta (Grip Inc., Rotting Christ) has been busy recently. Not only did he release the album from his new project, Enemy of the Sun record late last year, he also released this German entry into female fronted Gothic metal, a genre he has had considerable influence in, having produced the likes of Lacuna Coil, Tristania, Flowing Tears and The Gathering.While nothing new to the genre, Faith is the sort of polished, catchy record you’d expect from any of Napalm Records Gothic metal roster; lavish synths and robust guitars dancing around the centerpiece of the female vocals, in this case 21 year old siren Franziska Huth, who replaced original singer Sandra Schleret (Elis) who left after the album was recorded, prompting Sorychta to rerecord the whole album with Huth.

Basically, if you are into bands like Leave’s Eyes (especially so), Epica, Elis, After Forever and such, Eyes of Eden follow the exact same formula of mixing upbeat catchy numbers such as solid opener “Winter Night”, “Star” “Daylight” and the surprisingly stout “From Heaven Sent” and the expected, more restrained somber numbers like “When Gods Fall”, “Pictures” and “Sleeping Minds” and the requisite ballads “Man in the Flame” and closer “Not Human Kind”.

Sorychta’s guitars are thick and chunky, the synths are delicately balanced and orchestral, while Huth has an above average operatic voice, but not overly so, making for a pretty by the numbers Gothic metal album that, while breaking no boundaries, delivers all the expected elements in pleasing fashion.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
February 27th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP