Fear of Eternity
Funeral Mass

Please god, make him stop.

Not content with releasing 36 albums in 123 days from Italy’s one man mope fest Fear Of Eternity (aka Andrea Tilenni of Sinoath), now we get a re-issue of the 2001 demo that somehow got the man a 345 album deal with Moribund Cult.

Ye gods. How a quality label like Moribund Cult continues to promote this act, other than some form of cruel black metal inside joke with the label is beyond me. I know the sulking, woe is me style of black metal is all the rage now (I myself have 45 demos I recorded on my Casio ready for a label distribution if anyone is interested), but isn’t there at least some cut off for talent levels? Sure a band like Striborg may polarize fans with its horribly grim visage, but with Fear of Eternity, I just don’t see any reason for polarization, as I simply can’t imagine even the most die hard, woods dwelling, frowny faced black metal fans enjoying this.

The thing is, there seemed to be some level of tiny improvement over the last 24 albums, but now we are back to square one with the demo material of 6 years ago-and thus sounds like a six year old demo of strained, lo fi, badly played and badly programmed one man black metal recorded on a Mac in the depths of darkest, deepest Italy. The Goblin and 70’s horror film synths are more synthetic than ever and the minimalist riffage and tortured cries are equally amateurish and there just simply is no allure to this at all. Even with my recent descent into black metal, and particularly the more melancholy, depressive side of the genre, Fear of Eternity are the very bottom of the atmospheric black metal barrel and this 51 minute foray into minimalist, painfully dull tripe should be avoided at all costs.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 27th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul