For a Better Tomorrow EP

Sometime after their 2004 split with noise-mongers Burmese on Crucial Blast, Ohio sludge-slingers Fistula parted ways with drummer Aaron Brittain and lay idle for a year or two. Discussions with -16-/Scumchrist drummer Jason Corley lead to his joining the group and recording this five-song EP in anticipation of their full-length album, due later this year.

The title track kicks off the down-tuned depravity with a Black Sabbath-like plodding through a handful of chords, but “Upside Down” speeds up the festivities with punk-crusted melodies before falling backwards into throbbing riffage inspired by Corley’s serving time with -16-. While “Six Hundred and Sixty-Six” has an old Electric Wizard cadence, “The Master” starts with nearly two minutes repeating the same chord progression then kicks in with a crusty, Cable-like intensity. In an odd twist, the final cut “Friend of Mine” is a straight-faced acoustic track that smacks of Alice in Chains’ Sap EP.

A departure from their past feedback-scorched transgressions, Fistula have updated their sound from callous, unforgiving bulges of doom to a more streamlined, focused fixation on making an indelible mark upon the American doom underground.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Chris Ayers
June 20th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Vitam Infernal - Infernal Comedy
  • Fluisteraars - Bloem
  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach