Flagellated Seraph
Beyond Salvation

There is an air of mystery and anonymity surroundingĀ  Stockholm black metal act Flagellated Seraph and their debut album, Beyond Salvation. However, not knowing anything about the band or its members does not change the fact that Beyond Salvation is a killer release.

Basically, Beyond Salvation is the very epitome of black/death metal. It delivers melodic but sharp tremolo picked riffs that remind of Dissection,Marduk and Funeral Mist but its rendered with a more dusty, mid range tone and deeper. gruffer death metal vocals that seem inherently Stockholm-ish. The end result is pretty damn good, if a little short, and should appease fans of both genres.

There are only 6 songs and 2 of them are an intro and an outro, but the 4 songs in between are between 6 and 9 minutes in length and plenty worth it. After the intro of “Reminiscence of the Serpent”, the first real track “He Who Bears the Mark”, explodes from the gate with an attention getting gallop that melds frosty black riffs and a more earthy death metal rumble, it’s one of the releases standout numbers and give you a peek into Flagellated Seraph‘s fairly unique sound. The title track delivers a more tempered varied assault with plenty of killer riffs and time changes carry both black and death metal trademarks. But the albums second stand out, “I am the Flame” really encapsulates everything perfectly; the melodic riff at :58 and the 1:25 transition being just killer moments that are greeted with horns and head banging each time they resurface.

The 9 minute penultimate track is initially a more straightforward black metal track, the albums first and only real solo takes a definite Stockholm death metal lean bleedingĀ  into a moody,melodic section and then a killer melodic, blackened blast. The band is so seamless in their shifts from serpentine harmonics to death metal and back (3:33 is just killer) that I would not be surprised if I found out that the band was some sort of super group featuring veteran members from both genres. ‘Casus Belli” closes things out with 2 minutes of church organs and lurching riffs and growls, but is still most definitely an outro

As I mentioned already, there’s only 4 real songs, so this comes across as more of an EP, but the 30 or so killer music contained is more than worth the price of a full CD and I highly recommend this mysterious band to anyone wanting their metal a perfect mix of black and death.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 10th, 2012


  1. Commented by: Jodi

    I’m sure the band is cool and all, but that name…

  2. Commented by: gabaghoul

    but they’re touring with Spanked Cherub and Horsewhipped Unicorn

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream