Rise to Ruin

Most bands who go on a 6 year or more hiatus don’t come back quite as well as Gorefest did. 2004’s La Muerte was a pummeling beast of a return to the scene and held high expectations for Rise to Ruin. Though the band isn’t turning pages in the future of death metal, they are giving us a swift kick in the testicles and a sledgehammer to the face. Rise to Ruin is impressive stuff.

Gorefest is a tough band. This music is tight, relentless and thick as hell. From the opening crusher “Revolt “you pretty much know what you’re in for. The songwriting is so damn good for its genre it almost makes them sound progressive at times. Gorefest definitely pushes the boundaries between true death, progressive death, and death ‘n’ roll. Grooves are thrown around everywhere and the band has a sense of melody that gives this record a great atmosphere.

Unlike most death metal, I can actually make out every word that JC rabidly barks at you. His voices is pretty straight up and monotone, but the man goes in the book as having one of the better death metal vocal chords around. The quality in the guitar riffs are pretty significant as well. Instead of a chug ’a’ long for nine songs there is actually character. Most of the versus and main riffs are fast and grinding with shout choruses and pounding drums, but three fourths through most of the tunes very dark and melodic breaks will appear. Superb leads flourish Rise to Ruin and prove Frank Harthoom is a talented man. Most noticeable to me though is the drumming. Blast beats and a few badass fills had me tuned in real nice. That’s a powerful man behind that set and most bands today would kill for that kind of drumming.

With definite high expectations and a history, Gorefest is staying true and solid. Rise to Ruin is good and better than most of the experimental death the younger generation is dishing out today. I for one will be tossing my promo and buying the real deal. Turn this fucker up loud and take a lesson in structured death metal.

By: Shane Wolfensberger

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shane Wolfensberger
October 18th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness