Hail of Bullets
Warsaw Rising EP

Released as digital only EP, Warsaw Rising is a stop gap release from this Dutch super group (members of Asphyx, Gorefest, Thanatos) with 2 new songs, a cover song (Twisted Sister’s “Destroyer”) and three live songs (“Red Wolves of Stalin”, “Nachthexen” and “The Crucial Offensive”) from the excellent …Of Frost and War debut.

To be honest it isn’t must have release, other than hearing a strange choice of cover songs and two killer new songs- “Liberators” and “Warsaw Rising”, which I imagine will both surface on the next album. The cover song is heavy as hell, but just ….odd. Both the new tracks continue where …Of Frost left off: classic styled European death metal with heavy doses of Bolt Thrower and Asyphx with World War II based lyrics rendered by the suddenly active Martin van Drunen. “Warsaw Rising” is an up-tempo crusher that reeks of The Rack era Asphyx while “Liberators” is a slower, rumbling track that’s pure Bolt Thrower all with Van Drunen’s uniquely pained roars and screams.

And when Van Drunen is singing with a full band, he sounds great- one of the best voices in death metal ever. But as the three live tracks show, when he’s rasping his between song banter (in multiple languages no less) – it’s flat out fucking, nails on a chalk board annoying. Otherwise the live tracks are tight, heavy and solid renditions of their recorded counterparts, espcially the crumbling “Nachthexen”.

My only gripe with Hail of Bullets, isn’t really a gripe, but more to do with the fact I’ve been listening to the new Asphyx album, Death…The Brutal Way, and to be quite honest, the two bands are virtually indistinguishable from each other (even more with Asphyx having some war based songs). Not surprising considering they share two members, but at some point the bands have to get a more distinguishable, separate identity.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
August 17th, 2009


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom