Who Needs a Shepard?

Here’s a promising, nicely packaged, self released, 5 song EP than will not only appeal to you retro thrash fans out there, but maybe fans of modern thrash like Trivium and Cerberus (US).

Hailing from Tempe, Arizona, Hemoptysis (coughing up of blood or of blood-stained sputum from the bronchi, larynx, trachea, or lungs), have all the tools to be successful with their retro, but modernized take on thrash metal; solid production, sturdy double bass work of Travis Thune, some nifty solos, and some generally tight well written riffs. Vocalist /lead guitarist Masaki Murashita has a slightly raspier voice than most retro thrash (and no clean croons), giving the material a bit of an edge and the music has a nice balance between bay area crunch and more melodic, modern Americanized metal.

All 5 tracks are competent and have moments to revisit and enjoy whether it be the old school, steady stylings of opener “Shadows of Death” and the title track , the nice solos and jaunt of “And the World Dies” the early gallop and solos of “All For You” or stern urgency of closer “A Traitor”, Hemoptysis manage to keep the short EP interesting and competent enough to warrant some attention.

Definitely a young unsigned band to keep an eye on.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 29th, 2009


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • The Lion’s Daughter  - Skin Show
  • Aversed - Impermanent
  • Passéisme - Eminence
  • Kataan - Kataan EP
  • Feculent - The Grotesque Arena EP
  • Dead World Reclamation - Aura of Iniquity
  • Wythersake - Antiquity
  • Cambion - Conflagrate the Celestial Refugium
  • Mistweaver - Swansong
  • Beekeeper - Slaves to the Nothing
  • The Monolith Deathcult   - V3 - Vernedering
  • Agent Steel - No Other Godz Before Me
  • Vallendusk - Heralds of Strife
  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP