Pimeyden Hehku MCD

There is beating the dead horse and then there is kicking the skeleton after all the meat has rotted off. Horna milk all they can out of an idea but discard it before it becomes too putrid. Once again we have ‘unoriginal’ black metal with rehashed elements highlighting past glories, on once again, if you count yourself a Horna fan of the Corvus period you will not be disappointed.

If you picked up the split with Peste Noire you have already been enjoying one quarter of this cd release. If you picked up the vinyl version of Pimeyden Hehku you know it comes with two bonus tracks (“Talvenvarjo pt. 1” and “Talvenvarjo pt. 2”). If, like me, you couldn’t find it, thank Moribund for a domestic release of the four-song cd version. Maybe being Horna gives them an edge, but this is one band that I have followed through many changes over the years that I can honestly say that I have enjoyed all their releases.

Horna are still adherents to thin production, raw sound, and vocals so weak in the mix as to be barely audible. The drums are far from dominating but are clear enough to be heard. The guitars really lead the ebb and flow and deserve their position in the mix, though they do not stand out as loudly as on Envaatnags Eflos Solf Esgantaavne. On Pimeyden Hehku they have slowed the pace, softened the delivery, and simplified the song structure but have not compromised the raw edge or the core tenants of black metal. Once again lengthy passages without words highlight the instrumentation. “Nostalgiaa” opens the disc in full glorious anthem mode, and they don’t look back until the final riff twenty minutes later. Another not to be missed release.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
May 17th, 2008


  1. Commented by: axiom

    Nice review. Horna’s got a certain mystique about them, don’t they? I guess it’s the right combination of filthy atmosphere and hypnotic riffing. One of my favorite black metal bands.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal