Imperial Triumphant

After a demo and a few EPs, New York City-based grim black metallers Imperial Triumphant have finally released their debut full-length album. Sporting a rather primitive, crude sound to coincide with their blend of (mostly) American and (some) Scandinavian black metal, Abominamentvm is a raging slab of manic, war-torn blasphemy. In essence, Abominamentvmis a relenting machine of savage riffs and crushing heaviness.

Though their music is clearly on the black side of the metal spectrum, Imperial Triumphant mix in plenty of death metal and thrash elements. Their take on a bloated genre of music is surprisingly novel and though their ideologies and ambiance are about as fresh as a black-peeled banana, their execution is among the best of the other neophytes to the scene.

Imperial Triumphant showcase a wide variety of musical dexterity as well. They can be downright technical (especially bassist Erik Malave on “Manifesto”), but they thankfully never stray too far down the horribly tiresome technical-just-to-be-technical road. Rather, Malave and the rest of the band demonstrate their finesse when it’s needed and instead keep their heads down and plug away with both slow, crippling passages and blazing speed.

Imperial Triumphant haven’t exactly reinvented the wheel or come up with a new way to slice bread. However, they wear an abundance of influences on their sleeves and aren’t afraid to show it off. No two songs are identical on Abominamentvm because Imperial Triumphant have created a dizzying concoction that is equal parts Absu, Darkthrone, Emperor, Winter and Mayhem (though further listens uncloak many others as well).

In all, Abominamentvm is a nice little monster of a debut and it will fit snugly within the confines of many a black metal fiend. Moreover, their style is eclectic enough that even the most narrow-minded bloke averse to all things black will find enough worthy material on Abominamentvm to enjoy.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Mike Sloan
October 26th, 2012


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Replicant - Infinite Mortality
  • Zombi - Direct Inject
  • Mastiff - Deprecipice
  • Wristmeetrazor - Degeneration
  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP