Karnak Seti
Scars of Your Decay

If a band contacts me or the site and politely asks for a review of their self-released record, and sends me a copy of their record from Portugal, you know what? Even if it’s from 2009, when it’s this solid, I’ll review the damn thing and give the Teeth of the Divine readership some exposure to a band they may well never hear otherwise.

Though hardly a hotbed of melodic death metal, Karnak Seti looks to be Portugal’s premier export in the genre, plying a modern, well-produced, well executed and sturdy form of the genre. As I said, the production values are extremely high, as is the musicianship and delivery, and it’s free from any nu-metal or core contrivances. While some keyboard litter the riffs here and there, it never devolves into sugary Sonic Syndicate styled commercialism. There are no clean vocals either, which is a bonus.

What you do get is riffs and solos; lots of ‘em. Quite simply, the likes of “Silence Retained”, “God’s New Scheme” (the thrashy shift at 2:40 is killer), cantering title track, and perfectly written closing of endnote “Seizures” deliver shifting, elegant songs that are melodic, yet progressive and ballsy. I was reminded of a stripped down, less epic version of early Disillusion as far as structure and riffs are concerned. I’m genuinely surprised that these guys haven’t been signed yet (Scarlet Records?)

After five demos and this debut full-length, Karnak Seti appear to have the staying power and the dedication, as well as all the skill and song writing chops needed to be a respected act the genre.

Make it happen.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 16th, 2010


  1. Commented by: faust666

    Gotta check this out then!!

  2. Commented by: reno ramos

    thankx alot man!!!cheers from portugal!!

  3. Commented by: luis

    great review! Keep the good work

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge