Few fans of extreme metal have not heard of Kataklsym (even if you haven’t, you’ve probably accidentally seen them live as they seem to tour oh about 350 days out of the year), as these Canadians have been going strong for damn near 30(!) years.  Their last album, Of Ghosts and Gods, just seemed to miss that “it” factor and came across as a very flat album overall, so the big question was: can these metal behemoths get back to what has endeared them to so many?

Press play on the first track, “Guillotine”, and when that first stabbing riff and blast beats come ripping through your speakers, let that smile creep across your face… the Kataklysm you know and love is back.  Maurizio Iacono seems to have that fire back in his voice, which is saying something for a man who has seen this band through what is now their 13th full length album.  Jean-Francois Dagenais is still here masterfully manning the strings, as one of the two OG members (along with Iacono).  Oli Beaudoin (Ex Deo, ex-Neuraxis) has really stepped up his drumming from Ghosts, and the rhythm section is rounded out by long-time bassist Stephane Barbe.

The wreckage continues with the catchy and mad-as-hell “Outsider”, with a nice tempo change coming with “The Last Breath I’ll Take is Yours”.  This leads to what is my favorite track on the album, “Narcissist”, which just has that vintage Kataklysm “punch” and would have been right at home on In Shadows and Dust.  The tempo is brought down a bit again for more melodic closer “Achilles Heel” which is a perfect ending to this album.  All the songs are very well written, and have choruses and lyrics you can’t help but yell along with (or bob your head to if you’re in a place that yelling might be frowned upon).

This is just a phenomenal return to form for one of the absolute best in the business.  To keep your sound relevant and fresh after this length of time is incredibly promising, and bodes very well for the future.  The production is top notch, and you might just find yourself listening to this album two or three times and surprised that nearly 40 minutes have gone by each time.  If you were less than impressed with their last one give this one a go.  You’ll be glad you did. 

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kevin E
August 9th, 2018


  1. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Man, i literally fell asleep on these guys a few albums ago, but this is fucking solid.I think i hear some Hypocrisy mixed in their Candian crispness and groove.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness