Lecherous Nocturne

Having only heard Lecherous Nocturne’s debut release Adoration of the Blade and also being aware of some of the personnel changes amongst the band (such has Dallas Toller Wade / ex Nile for example) I wondered how this would affect the group and their sound.

I quickly re-listened to the debut, to have a barometer for when delving into their latest offering and granted with this release, there is not any extreme change in sound, but this one is more chaotic, slightly tech metal and more evil sounding and even a bit black metal at times. I hear this mainly in the guitars but also in the production. It has a colder and more trebly sound compared to previous releases. With new members being from from such other more black (in a sense) metal bands Apotheosys and Helgardh, I can see some of the black blood bleeding into their new outfit. So, upon listens, I get a crossing of Angelcorpse and Chaos Inception in their sound now, even a bit of Diabolic with their early material in specific.

Obviously with the influx of new blood, one can expect change and with sole member from the beginnings Kreishloff, holding anchor, I can say the music has made a change for the better.

The songs are all quick and to the point, most are at the 4-6 minute mark and are quite unrelenting in their overall assault. ( Just listen to the drums on opener” Conquest or Consent”.) Like stated, the guitars have a much more trebly bite to them and not thick and chunky death metal sound.  In the opener about a ¼ way you hear these blackish tones and some darker melody making its way thru the song. The deathly stomp of “Quantum Mysticism” harkens a bit to the older sound but infuses that Floridian death metal sound into it as well. Drumming is off the charts and much like a earlier band/ review ( Infected Dead) I did, where I spoke highly of the drummer for that group, the drummer here,  Alex Lancia is all over the place. He really has some jackhammers going on here. Listen to “Towers of Silence” for a prime example. Also on the same song about ¾ through the guitars have a unusual effect to them, makes for an interesting sound. With all the fury and speed being put forth, you do get a bit of a respite with the more subdued piano driven interlude “Remembrance. It’s definitely not all gothic or mellow but more of a melancholic sonic instrumental.

“Times Ceaseless Onslaught lures you in a bit with a calm introduction and then boom! into the maelstrom once again. You will hear the prominent Angelcorpse sound here as well.  I mention AngelCorpse alot here because vocalist Josh Crouse must be channeling a bit of Pete Helmkamp in his approach. All through the album, the guitars of Kreishloff and Ethan Lane, are much more varied and I will say a bit more technical in nature. You will not here much in basic rhythms or simple repetitive riffs, There is a that black sound but much of the songs have that style of start/stop riffing intermixed with blackened sentiments and melody. I find this, makes for a more interesting listen in the overall.

I personally enjoyed this darker turn in their sound, and to even were the cover art alludes to the more blackened approach. Songs and intensity are now much more imposing and powerful.

Lets see where this takes them and I am looking to seeing them live to see how they pull this off in a live setting and also to future material from them. Lets hope they can further build upon this.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Will 'Bones' Lee
May 1st, 2018


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu