Litany for the Whale
Dolores EP

Here’s a cool little 7 track EP from a new California act who mange to meld dark, pummeling hardcore, crust and post rock into a solid release that bodes well for the future, even in relatively crowded scene. Definitely recommended for fans on Converge due to some blistering chaos, underlined with some subtle and metallic harmonies, Litany For the Whale will also appeal to fans of Gaza, Cursed, Harlots and such with their addition of crumbling atmospherics and instrumental sections amid the gritty metallic spurts. 

 “A Sleep” starts things off with some FX and foreboding industrial programming before segueing into “A Wake” a rumbling, noisy crusty affair before the surprisingly melodic “Die Alone, Unloved” with some very impressive layered hues about a minute of so in before the track careens into a feedback drenched assault of noise. “Rotting on the Shoreline” opens with some somber acoustics before delving into a seething, lurching, anthemic climax and settling into soothing instrumental “Philistines”.   

Closing track “Lonesome God” is the EP’s standout, not only because it’s the EPs longest track and comes across as melodic hardcore like Killing the Dream, if they took abreather and were filled with a brooding, dark, depressive rage and there’s a killer shimmering ambient segment right in the middle. The only downfall of this EP, is just that it is an EP and I simply want of hear more of the band’s all encompassing take on hardcore. 

Keep an eye out for these guys. Very promising stuff.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 8th, 2010


  1. Commented by: Biff_Tannen

    What a stupid fucking band name. Im getting real sick of these bands using what should be a SONG name as the band name… there are tons of them in the last few year, especially in the metalcore/deathcore wart of a genre.

  2. Commented by: Stiffy

    HA HA HA!!! Tell em Biff

  3. Commented by: globox

    I dunno. I definitely prefer these kinds of names to Blasphemonecrophaginomicon, but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Todesstoss - Das Liebweh-Dekret
  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound