The Passing

This sophomore release from Swedish outfit Machinery shows a great deal of promise, even if it’s a bit bipolar. There are really two bands at work here. One is a dark, progressive and interesting sounding act. The other is a blazing thrash/melodic death band. Fortunately, both show a good deal of talent and are quite listenable.

¬†We’re introduced to both acts early on in the record. Opener “Cold” is a slower number, and while you can hear the influence of melodeath acts like Soilwork, you can hear just as much progressive. The second song, “Reason is the Truth” is a sonic attempt at ripping the listener’s face off after lulling them with the first song. The record continues in that fashion, progressive metal with some death and black influences, dueling with full-on, in your face death, thrash and black numbers. And there are gems to be found in both styles.

For me, the more progressive songs, like “I Divine” and my personal favorite on the record, “Bloodline,” fare better than the heavier numbers. Of course, I’m willing to admit that could be my own personal prejudice, since I do prefer a more melodic style. But songs like the black metal-influenced “Delirium in Vengeance,” while enjoyable,¬†strike me as more than a little cliched and behind the times.

One of the more interesting moments on the record comes when they try to blend the sounds into one song, “Decide by Pain.” At its heart, it’s a solid traditional metal song, but on the bridge we get a little vocal squawk and some more atmospheric sounds. They do lose a little steam at the end of the record with the industrial-flavored “The Passing” and the lethargic “Waiting for the Wave,” neither of which works as well as any of the first seven tracks.

As I said at the beginning, there’s a great deal of promise in this band. I love the mood and atmosphere that they create on the darker songs, and I really like the versatility they display. I’d like to hear what they could do if they could get all of that together at the same time. I’m not jumping up and down about this record, but I like it. I’d recommend giving it more than a passing listen.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Fred Phillips
July 20th, 2008


  1. Commented by: gabaghoul

    huh I got this one to do too – guess I don’t have to now. was kinda iffy on the clean vocals but the thrash/death stuff was really solid. still need to finish listening to it.

  2. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    Good review. At their best these guys remind be a bit of Nevermore. If you’re into dark progressive metal this is worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Black Hole Deity - Profane Geometry
  • Todesstoss - Das Liebweh-Dekret
  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal