I’m probably the wrong person to be reviewing a prog album as for the most part the entire genre bores me. However I will try my best to explain where they lay in the progscape. My guess is that these guys would be right in the middle to be honest. They are accomplished musicians however I don’t really get into the whole look how well I can play thing that prog is based on. For some reason the leads reminds me of the last couple of Death albums.

However the incessant noodling lacks any real teeth to it and simply seems to reek of playing for its own sake. The rhythm section is pretty solid, with a very good bass sound but the material just doesn’t register on any emotional level with me. The tempos are varying degrees of right in the middle, just so you can hear every last note they are able to play. This is probably a good thing or else you get into the silliness that is Dragonforce. The vocals are dry to me, a decent mid register clean singing. Again they aren’t bad but they do little to stand out. They try to get some teeth on the song “Deception”, however it later bogs down into a dueling solos contest and then the album loses me for the rest of its copious length. The excesses hit their zenith on the title track Triangular, which is an instrumental that last almost nine minutes. The “anything you can do I can do better” takes over the song in short order and renders the whole thing unlistenable.

Finally they cap it off with “Fragments”, which is nearly eleven minutes long, although that does go by a little faster than Triangular. If the song didn’t take way too long to get going it might even be decent but the ponderous intro renders me numb before they even get to the song. Sadly there is a lot of sound here but far too little fury.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kyle Huckins
September 27th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain
  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon