Kill the King

So Floridian black metal act Mindscar were around back in the early 00s with a few demos and such and back then, their guitarist/vocalist Richie Brown was the bassist for Trivium for a year, before Heafy and co got famous. But the band faded out of existence after a lone 2001 EP, However Brown reformed the band with in 2012 with original drummer Mike Radford and session bassist Jacob Belkerdid (for this recording, since replaced by Terran Fernandez).

And the reformation with the bands first full length album, Kill the King is largely successful. It’s a at times blistering black/death metal record with a innate tight Floridan/tech death metal influence mixed with blacker, searing Council of the Fallen/Order of Ennead tremolo blasts and melodic leads. It’s confident, well played, vicious and at times rather technical, and with just a few elements of experimentation here and there by way of some clean vocals (supplied by none other than Trivium’s Heafy, who also lends a lead to opener “Asmodeus”), some atmospherics and light keys.

The 39 minutes is tightly played, tightly produced and full of razor sharp, slicing, dicing riffs such as the attention grabbing opener, “Asmodeous” the title track, “God’ s Creation”, “Ashes Made Heaven”, furious “Beneath All the Broken Bones”  and “Forever Consume You”, all impressively blistering tracks. There’s even some more lumbering burly moments such as the pure Floridian lurch of “Descending Straight to Hell” and “Deathmask”, showing a more death metal based chug ‘ n’ churn. The vocals of Brown are an equal mix of blackish metal rasps and gruffer growls, but some might construe the vocals as more Trivium-ish and metal core-ish.

The album ends with a circus-y instrumental “Insatiate” and a furious, high octane cover of NIN’s .”Mr Self Destruct”. In all, a very impressive, promising debut that was 15 years in the making, and one that is even more impressive considering the self released nature. I hope the band continues to stick it out and deliver more albums, and don’t wait 15 years to do so.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 3rd, 2015


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death