De Contemplanda Morte

The Anja Offensive is turning into a heavy hitter in the black metal genre. With stellar releases by Antaeus, Secrets of the Moon, Watain, Katharsis and the amazing new Deathspell Omega, but with De Contemplanda Morte, there seems to be a drop off from the label’s brilliance.

Two piece Mortuus consists of M. Hinze from Ondskapt (drums) and Tehôm from the defunct Dödfödd (vocals, guitar, bass), but even with that line-up the duo can only muster a fairly standard scrawling, dreary, slightly doomy, depressive slab of drawn out black metal.

Admittedly, this isn’t a bad album per say, but it’s not as evocative, claustrophobic or paranoia inducing as its peers. Long songs, layered pained screams and chants (“The Illumination of Job”), droning riffs (“Penetrations of Darkness”) and plenty of lengthy atmospheric/creepy segues (“Supplication of the Demise”) littered with a few blasts of traditional blackened fury (“Astral Pandemonium”)-it’s all here by the numbers, but none of it ever comes close to the likes of Draugar, Leviathan, Shining or Azrael-all seeming reference points.

The production is above average, meaning that it’s listenable to these ears but may be too clean for some of the genre’s purists giving it another strike against it. Though the one man/two man black metal seems to be vogue now, I wonder how long the genre can continue being as viable as it was just a few years ago.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 2nd, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu