Nervous Impulse
Time to Panic

I’m not sure what is going on on this album cover, but I’m pretty sure what’s going on with the music: bruising modern grindcore with elements of slam,  death metal and even deathcore.

The 15 tracks short sharp bursts and less than 40 minute time plays into the classic grindcore tropes as do the trifecta of vocals (burps, growls squeals), as does the band’s lyrics themes of politics, war, society etc (and cover of Agoraphobic Nosebleed‘s “Vexed”) and many of the tracks’ furious stabs of classic anarcho-grindcore chaos such as “Oil Spills”, “Time to Panic”, “The Last Call” and ‘The Neighbors House is on Fire”.

But rather than go too muddy or the mid range Nasum /Rotten Sound delivery, there is modern undercurrent of polish and slamming, deathcore heft, especially in the pig squeals and exaggerated rhythm section (dat bass!), which plods and pummels with a massive presence, especially in the many slamming, loping grooves such as “Syrian Nato Meat Grinder”, “9 Meals to Anarchy-Riot Solves Everything”, “My Right to Medicate” “Overwhelming Positive Vibe” and “Dead Jeremians 2014”. It’s all pretty beefy and meaty with lots of downtuned bludgeoning, but its never too overdone or sterile and the songs hit that sweet spot between too short grindcore and more memorable, longer last death metal 3 and a half minutes or so to get all the burping, grooving and blasting in.

Fans of Blood DusterSquash Bowels, less gurgly Cock and Ball Torture and even fans of the likes of Devourment or some deathcore will enjoy this. It’s a brutal, brainless listen that requires little effort

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 3rd, 2015


  1. Commented by: Juan Manuel Pinto

    You probably did not intend it, but calling the album “a brainless listen that requires little effort” sounds like those who might enjoy it are meatheaded dumbasses.

  2. Commented by: Jay

    You’re speakin’ my language with Blood Duster, Squash Bowels and CBT. I’m putting this one on the list. Nice one man!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu