No Heaven Awaits Us
The Irony of Pure Hatred EP

There’s hardcore then there’s HARD-FUCKIN-CORE. Bands like Built Upon Frustration, Sleeping Giant, Black My Heart, Redline and such make the Hot Topic core likes of Hatebreed, Terror, First Blood and their ilk look like choir boys, and Poland’s No Heaven Awaits Us is a nice addition to that group.

As expected from Lifeline Records, this brief but monstrous 7 track EP comes in a nice digi-pack, but more importantly, the music is pretty fucking destructive. More politically charged death metal than clichéd hardcore, NHAU rumble, and growl through the 7 beefy, crumbling tracks at a mid paced lope that will shake your speakers. Of course though, it’s far for creative or technical but the sheer force of chuggariffic tracks like “Hateback”, “Do You Dance” and “License to Kill” is palpable.

A promising debut, and one that if the band can avoid the line-up issues that plague anything core related, this lot could make some noise (literally) in a scene that seems more concerning with trying to being hardcore than actually playing hardcore music.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
May 13th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Caustic Wound - Death Posture
  • Solstafir - Endless Twilight of Codependent Love
  • Depravity - Grand Malevolence
  • Macabre - Carnival of Killers
  • Kiova - Empty Fields and Smoke-Filled Skies EP
  • Mors Principium Est - Seven
  • Eternal Champion - Ravening Iron
  • Angerot - The Divine Apostate
  • Carnation - Where Death Lies
  • My Dying Bride - Macabre Cabaret EP
  • Witchtrap - Evil Strikes Again
  • Décembre Noir - The Renaissance of Hope
  • Ossuary Anex - Obscurantism Apogee
  • Killer Be Killed - Reluctant Hero
  • Stormkeep - Galdrum EP