Slaves & Snakes

A few years ago bands like Nails, All Pigs Must Die, Trap Them  and almost every other release on Southern Lord was all the rage;  A feral, snarling mix of grind core, crust, death metal and hardcore rendered with a dirtied up Swedish HM2 buzzsaw tone.  Well, the 2018 debut from France’s Nuisible is here to recreate that cantankerous tone and some.

Formed from members of As We Bleed, Nuisible takes the above described sound, adds some tasty Wolverine Blues -ish death n roll and voila, Slave & Snakes, a thunderously  impressive, noisy, raucous debut from start to finish with ample amounts of blasting grinding bluster and lots of very hefty, nasty grooves.

The guitar tone is rooted in the HM2 boss sound of Swedish death metal, but grimier, beefier and dirtier with a deadly punk/grindcore sneer. From the more Tragedy on steroids canter of ” … And Snakes”, “Death Legacy”, “Two Sided Integrity”, and “Burning Embers” (with a simply devastating Crowbar ish song ending lope) through Entombed’s death n roll era rumble of “Evil Still” and “Vengeful Blood” to flat out slow burning destruction of closer “Blur the Line”, the album is an impressive display of heft energy and aggression that somehow passed under my radar in 2018, so I’m glad the PR firm decided to finally shoot it my way.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 21st, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Necro Weasel - Never Again
  • Eisenkult/Atronos - Demo Split CD
  • Kryptograf - The Eldorado Spell
  • Satyricon - Satyricon & Munch
  • Narakah  - Nemesis Cloak
  • Xaon - The Lethean
  • The Halo Effect - Days of the Lost
  • Disma - Earthendium EP
  • Unholdun - Unholdun EP
  • Cellblock Autopsy - Fertile Soil of Immortality
  • Imonolith               - Progressions
  • Voluntary Mortification - Suffer to Rise
  • Witchery - Nightside
  • Victorius - Dinosaur Warfare Pt.2 - The Great ninja War
  • Maul - Seraphic Punishment