Born Again Misanthrope

Plutonium is the brain child of one J. Carlsson who does everything in this Swedish industrialized black metal project. It’s been a while since I’ve heard a good example of the style (Havoc Unit  maybe?) , and while Plutonium checks all the boxes, it’s not a release I’m enamored with.

The check boxes that Carlsson fills out are competent enough; cold mechanical guitar tone, quirky song titles, robotic programmed drums and shrieks , surgical, atonal, mechanized steady riffs, a few cyber programmed atmospherics and an overall dystopian vibe all come together to certainly make an album that is instantly recognizable as industrial black metal.

But even with mixing caustic, mechanized blasts and more robotic chirps and beeps, none of the material quite hits home. The albums 53 minute, 10 track run time has a few solid moments such as the militant march of “Electric Barbwire Crown of Thorns” or the more standard melodic black metal of “Cortex Vortex”, but they are offset by tracks like  “The Inverted Panopticon Experience” and “Casque Strength” which is the same riff for both songs respective 6 and 7 minute durations, or “Renuntiationem” a puzzling 5 minute atmospheric/ambient number.

“Confessions Of A Suicidal Cryptologist” ends the album of a pretty solid example of the genre showing Carlsson has a grasp of the style when he’s not being more experimental and concentrates on cold mechanized riffs and howls. If he can focus on those a little more than the more experimental off kilter side he seems to favor.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 7th, 2016


  1. Commented by: Tacocat

    Check out the newest spektr lp.

  2. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    yeah, i dunno, this isn’t awful it just isn’t quite landing.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cambion - Conflagrate the Celestial Refugium
  • Mistweaver - Swansong
  • Beekeeper - Slaves to the Nothing
  • The Monolith Deathcult   - V3 - Vernedering
  • Agent Steel - No Other Godz Before Me
  • Vallendusk - Heralds of Strife
  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP
  • Becerus - Homo Homini Brutus
  • Zaratus - In The Days of Whore
  • Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes of Emptiness
  • Dalriada - Őszelő
  • Dyskinesia - Micturating Deposits of Grit Through the Urinary Tract EP
  • Phlebotomized - Pain, Resistance, Suffering EP
  • Silver Talon - Decadence and Decay