Raging Speedhorn
Before the Sea Was Built

Since their last album, 2005’s How The Great Have Fallen, Raging Speedhorn has gone through a bit of a change. They added two new members, Bloody Kev (vocals) and Dave Thompson (bass), and apparently suffered some deep psychological trauma. That would be the only thing that could explain the vibe on the latest album Before The Sea Was Built.

To oversimplify, this album sounds like Pelican & Neurosis having a jam session with a hardcore vocalist. Of course, there are more layers to discover as the seconds tick on the counter, but that is the basic idea of it. The band employs an atmospheric overtone throughout the record…to great effect, I might add. Bloody Kev’s defiant hardcore strains blend, surprisingly, very well with the raw, loud delivery of the music. The ambience sucks you in, the energy fires you up, and the vibe angers & depresses the hell out of you.

Overall, this is a strong release from Raging Speedhorn. Before The Sea Was Built is an excellent progression along their musical path and will no doubt broaden their appeal…but not in a Metallica/Bob Rock kind of way. This album solidifies Raging Speedhorn as a major force in the underground scene…as if they needed solidifying.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
January 9th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom