Remove the Veil
Another Way Home

And so another bunch of kids has decided to add a Southern Rock element to their hardcore base, and the end result while not terrible sounds like a virtual clone of the genres current kings, Maylene and the Sons of Disaster.

Though far from a bad release, and will have some appeal to those that enjoy I, Sleepwalker, Cancer Bats, He Is Legend, The Showdown and such, Another Way Home just sounds a little too much like the afore mentioned peers with their hard driving, raucous, whiskey swilling brand of rollicking hardcore.

Like Maylene, Remove The Veil keep things raspy and more metalcore/hardcore in the vocal department, which is OK, and use the occasional clean croon for the odd chorus, but it’s the swampy energetic riffs that carry this thing. From down home ballads (“The Revision”) to moonshine drenched stompers (“Watauga”, “Wait to Wake”, “A Rage Scene Retold”, “Vampire”) and the obligatory Down-ish, swampy, acoustic injections (“Another Way Home”, “Burn it Down”), Remove the Veil are not doing anything remotely original, but they do keep things gritty and entertaining and keep any form of emo or pop out of the mix and have actual songs rather than say The Cancer Bats more choppy take on Southern hardcore.

Not too shabby, but hardly a groundbreaker either, but one of the more acceptable Southern inspired hardcore records I have heard and is certainly nipping on the heels of Maylene and the Sons of Disaster, so if you are a fan, check Remove the Veil out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
December 6th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom